Birch moon snowmelt mead

image_1

A sack mead brewed using melted snow from the first storm of 2014

O.G. = 1.120

02 January 2014 AD

I bought 5 pounds of local honey at the farmer’s market this summer to make a mead, but I never got around to it. The storm inspired me.

Ingredients-

  • 5 pounds local raw honey
  • 1 tbsp yeast nutrient
  • 1 gallon melted snow, melted on the woodstove
  • 1 pkg Red Star Pasteur Champagne yeast

Procedure:

Over the course of a couple hours, I gathered snow from outside and melted it down one the woodstove. The honey had long since solidified, so it was a bit of a trick to soften it up. I immersed the jug in hot water, but since it was a big jug, I could not get it more than half submerged. So, as the snowmelt got hot, I would pour it into the honey jug to melt some down, then pour it out and repeat. Took about an hour to get the honey out.

Once the honey and water were all mixed, I boiled it for 10 minutes, added a tbsp of yeast nutrient, then put the pot outside for two hours while I watched a movie. By that time it was ready to put into the carboy. The yeast was rehydrated with warm water, and pitched immediately.

During one round of snow melting, I discovered I had added a secret ingredient:

image

So, I went with it. I added several sprigs of pine needles to the carboy for fermentation.

Man, compared to beer, mead is easy to make. It is just that waiting of a year or more before you can drink it that is a drag.

Racked 18.01.2014  s.g. 1.050

Bottled 13.04.2014  s.g. 1.020

Has some nice residual sweetness still. Not bone dry like most of my meads. A true sack. Actually doesnt taste bad right now, though needs a little mellowing.

photo-8

Leave a Reply

