Honey badger badass wheat

The devil made me do it

13 July 2013 AD

I don’t do a lot of wheat beers, and I have never brewed a beer with honey, but a few weeks ago, I had a dream in which I was brewing a honey wheat. So, not wanting to ignore the messages from the subconscious or the inner kingdoms, here it is…

Mash didn’t really go by the book. But, I did manage to keep the grains wet at all times. And honey badger don’t give a shit.

Grain Bill-

  • 4 pounds American Pilsner malt
  • 4 pounds white wheat malt
  • 1 pound cara pils
  • 1 pound local honey

honey

Hop Bill-

  • 1 ounce Hallertau 4.1% alpha

Yeast-

  • White labs Hefeweizen IV

Starter made with 1/2 c light extract to 1 pint of water

Mash schedule- single decoction

I mashed in with about 3.5 gallons of water, enough to get the grains all wet.

  • Strike temp 110
  • Raised to 127F. A little higher than I wanted, gave it 40 min rest to let the temp come down a bit
  • removed 40% of mash and intended to raise to 160 for rest, but it blew right by the mark and went to a rolling boil. But honey badger dont care, so I rolled with it and boiled 10 min, then added back to mash
  • rest mash at 148F for 30 min
  • raise temp to 160 for 1 hr
  • mash out

Sparge-

  • About 4.5 gallons sparge water at 170F

No stuck mash this time, as happened the last time I did a wheat. I was pretty careful to pour a good base, pour the mash slowly into the tun, and let it settle. Then, I drained it slowly through the tube for the recirculation, letting it settle gently in. Seemed to work and the sparge went smoothly.

Boil-

S.g. was 1.030 at start of boil. I knew I was going to be adding honey, and this would add some gravity, so I did not want to boil it too long.

Boiled 45 minutes, adding hops at rolling boil.

Honey was added at end of boil, let it roll in the boil for a minute or so, really to make sure it all dissolved, then shut down the boil.

Cold Break

With no snow banks or lake to put the pot into, I was stuck to come up with a cold break. So, I put a lid on the pot, and hosed the sides down with cold water for a while. I think this cooled it some, but I did not get a good sharp break on it.

Starting Gravity= 1.052

Color going into the carboy was beautiful. If this were an Irish legend, I would vow to marry the woman I meet who has hair of that color. But… she would probably have the personality of a honey badger.

Pitched yeast starter just before bed. The starter was bubbling well before pitching. By morning, a good fermentation had commenced.

4 thoughts on “Honey badger badass wheat

  1. I’m glad you decided to brew this. Sounds successful to this point. Should I put this down as your contribution to Oktoberfest when you come out this September?

    Is the plan to prime that honey badger with honey?

    • Hadn’t thought about priming yet, but Your idea seems like the only reasonable way to proceed. Not sure how much honey would be needed to prime. I will have to work on that.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Racked the honey badger on 22.07.2013
    s.g. 1.013
    Sample tastes good. Very mild. Not too hoppy, not too anything really.
    I guess something called honey badger should have some bitterness. A nice “huge hop slap in the face”.

  3. Caged (kegged) the honey badger on 30.07.2013
    f.g. 1.013

    Primed it with about 1/3 cup raw local honey in a pint of water, to give a solution of s.g. 1.070.

    Color is beautiful. Almost honey-like one might be inclined to say, if one were so inclined to say such things. Flavor is very mild. The wheat taste is subdued. The hops is subdued. Not very honey badger like, but should be very drinkable.

Leave a Reply

